Follow Us:

Secondary Education

In Lesotho, Secondary Education is a five-year school system; with the first three (Upper Basic Education or Junior Secondary) years of schooling leading to the attainment of Junior Certificate (JC) and the last two (Senior Secondary) years of schooling leading to the attainment of Lesotho General Certificate of Secondary Education (LGCSE). The first three years cover Forms A, B and C or Grades 8, 9, and 10 while the last two cover Forms D and E or Grades 11 and 12. There are 341 post-primary schools, of which 250 offer both JC and LGCSE while 91 schools offer up to JC level only.


Plans are afoot to overhaul secondary education curricular by phasing out the JC and replacing it with a four-year schooling programme, leading to attainment of AdvancedSubsidiary(AS). The AS is to be followed by a one-year leading to A-Level qualification, both reforms aiming to start in 2021 . These developments are meant to respond to the needs of the country’s economy as well those of a modern-day Mosotho child who aspires to be competitive in the world of work and or to study beyond the borders of his or her country without hindrances. Introduction of A-Level is particularly welcomed by all sectors of the public as it is viewed as a step in the right direction to reduce the high cost of tertiary education by reducing the number of years in Tertiary. Currently, entrants into a degree programme have to go through a common first year, whose aim is to scale up the learners to A-level. This results in high endurance of costs at the level of tertiary education. There are already a handful of schools offering A-Level and Government is inundated with requests from both public and independent schools to grant them permission to offer this much sought-after qualification. 


There is a high variation in the secondary education landscape within the broad spectrum of approved subjects; with different schools offering their own curriculum. Therefore, it is not uncommon to find schools in close proximity offering completely different curricular, though there are some minimum prescriptions such as the least number of subjects to be taught, as well as core and practical subjects to adhere to. Schools are also at liberty to peg fees at their desired levels, provided an observance of maximum fees levels as prescribed by Government is made. Another peculiar feature is gross disparity in the educational facilities existing indifferent schools, a factor that accounts for poor performance in many schools.


Schools are owned by different proprietors namely, Government, community, churches and private. Church schools constitute 67% of all 341 secondary schools. Government schools, community schools and private schools constitute 27%, 4% and 2% respectively. Of the church schools, most are the Roman Catholic Church schools followed by Lesotho Evangelic Church schools, Anglican Church schools, African Methodist Episcopal schools and all otherschools. 

Dr. Jone Marole Head of Department

(+266) 22323946

Our Hardworking Staff

Dr. Jone Marole

CEO Secondary

Admin Section


Curriculum and Assessment


The curriculum and assessment sub sector is made up of several departments and units of the ministry. These are the National Curriculum Development Centre (NCDC), Lesotho Distance Teaching Centre (LDTC), Examinations Council of Lesotho (ECOL), School Supply Unit (SSU) and the Non-Formal Educa ...

Early Childhood and Care Unit

The Early Childhood Care and Development (ECCD) is viewed as a time of immense growth and development, when the brain develops most rapidly; a period when walking, talking, self-esteem, vision of the world and moral foundations are created within a child. Care, as an element of Integrated Ear ...

Learner Welfare and Care Unit


Lesotho Distance Teaching Centre (LDTC)

Non Formal Education (NFE)

NFE is defined in Lesotho as ‘‘activities that are designed to provide the Basotho youth and adults with development information, knowledge and skills required for them to function effectively, efficiently and productively in the various sectors ...

Lesotho National Commission for UNESCO

UNESCO unit under Director General

Planning Unit


Primary Education

Free Primary Education

Lesotho has made substantial gains in education service delivery with the introduction of Free Primary Education (FPE) on a phased basis between 2000 and 2006. In 2010, the Government of Lesotho further improved Free Primary Education initiative by introducing F ...

Special Education Needs Unit

Special Education Needs Unit

Statistics Unit

Statistics and EMIS Unit

Teaching Service Department (TSD)

Teaching Service Department under CEO TSD

Tertiary Education

Lesotho’s tertiary education institutions offer varying levels of training. Tertiary Education is instrumental in fostering growth, reducing poverty and boosting shared prosperity. It benefits not just the individual, but the entire educational system

Tertiary education refers t ...

The National Curriculum Development Centre (NCDC)

A nationally and internationally recognised institution that develops quality curriculum and instructional materials for pre-primary, primary and secondary education levels in Lesotho; offer consultancy services in designing and developing educational programmes and instructional materials an ...


TVET Department under Director TVET